Most requested advanced features

February 4, 2006

Thanks to everyone who has sent feedback on my book. The most requested advanced features so far are inheritance, remoting, and XML web services. Keep the suggestions coming as I do read and respond to them all.

4 Responses to “Most requested advanced features”

  1. Steven Chan Says:

    I do think building Window Form with Edit, Save, Delete functions for the similar business entities, such as, Purchase Order and Sales Order etc. is a trouble and boring job. Do u think so? I think if there is any good method? e.g. Code Generation , BaseForm (Inheritance) or Template etc.


  2. It is a boring job! Several other options that you might think about. In the book, I used the GridView in a readonly fashion. You can elect to make it editable, and even create new rows. Calling the .Save() method on the collection that is bound to the GridView will save everything with all the changes that were made. That will keep you from having to make individual screens. The disadvantage is that you do all your editing inside the GridView, and you will have to “tweak” it a little to display DropDownLists to make it easier for users to make changes. But using a GridView is certainly a viable option.

    Another option that I haven’t tried to use is the PropertyGrid, which is the same way you change properties in Visual Studio. I have never done so, but again, if you’re looking for easy and fast, that’s an option too.

    Hope that helps!

  3. Barkha Atwal Says:

    Hmm it seems like your site ate my first comment (it was super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I had written and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.

    I as well am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to everything. Do you have any tips and hints for first-time blog writers? I’d really appreciate it.


  4. Vogel Medien Verlag

    Thank you, I have just been looking for information about
    this topic for ages and yours is the best I’ve discovered so far.
    But, what concerning the conclusion? Are you certain about the source?


Leave a Reply

